Feng Shui by the Lake

For my first shot at this blog thing, I couldn’t decide where to begin – I have SO much exciting info I want to share. But a consultation last week got me thinking about the common misconceptions of Feng Shui, so I thought I would kick this blog off with the basics of what Feng Shui is…and what it is not.

First off – I’d like to share some shots from the consultation I did for a dear friend last week.

IMG_2028IMG_2061

IMG_2056This lucky lady lives in an updated turn of the century home, steps from a lake. I know, right?? It actually threw me off for a bit because her home is already so LOVELY that I couldn’t fathom what I would possibly recommend to her in terms of Feng Shui. But then I remembered – Feng  Shui is not just about the look or decor of your home. This is such an important point I want to land because so many of my friends and family think I’m learning the business of interior decorating. Now, interior decorating IS fabulous. But – Feng Shui is SO much more than that…

Sure, visual beauty is part of Feng Shui, but it’s just the tip of the iceberg. Feng Shui concepts keep clutter at bay, it makes rooms look somehow JUST RIGHT, it uses simple “secret tools” like mirrors to enhance and expand a cramped space (you should see my home – it’s crawling with mirrors). Feng Shui touches on all the senses (aromatherapy, anyone?) which is why when you walk into a Feng Shui-ed home, it doesn’t just look beautiful, it feels…nice. And as if affecting the FEEL of your home isn’t enough, it also helps to support those who inhabit it. It’s about adjusting the energy… or the “chi” of your home. So much so that it’s been proven that Feng Shui adjusted homes sell 30% faster and for 20% more money when on the Real Estate Market.

shutterstock_116543176Yep – you heard that right (check back soon for more info on Feng Shui Staging for Real Estate). So, while we may THINK that what we’re perceiving when we walk in a home that we presume as “beautiful” is that home’s physical characteristics…what we’re REALLY taking in is the aesthetic beauty AND the FEEL. The energy. The Chi. The stuff that’s really going on inside that home. Feng Shui makes that stuff, good stuff. And it makes those inside that home happier, healthier, wealthier, more relaxed, more productive, and – quite simply – more able to enjoy their lives. I’d say that’s pretty important, wouldn’t you? Why these concepts went into hiding for hundreds of years is beyond me.

So – back to lake friend’s gorgeous home. Turns out they are in the middle of plans to redecorate, so it was perfect timing for both of us. At the beginning of a consult, I sit down and get a feel for what’s going on in the lives of those that live in the home. What’s working in their lives? What could use a little support? (NOTE: the three big ones folks seem to lean towards so far are Marriage, Career and Wealth). So when we sat down and chatted, I was so amazed (albeit, not shocked) when I looked at her home at how the “expanded” areas truly were areas that were going VERY well for this family, and the areas that could use some work in her home corresponded perfectly with the areas she was looking to work on her life. Feng Shui is really oh so simple. It’s almost fool proof.

So we got to work on those key areas where they were looking for a little support. As it turns out, I had PAGES of recommendations for my dear friend! And after sending her post-consult summary/report, I was THRILLED to hear that she has already gotten to work on some of the suggestions and that her husband is totally on board with the concepts – HOORAY – HUGE WIN! I can’t wait to uncover the changes that come into their lives after the Feng Shui adjustments have been made and hope to do a “Before and After” story once we have the results. Check back for the update.

So – do you feel like you understand the concept of Feng Shui a little better now?

Thanks for reading my first post – Blessings!

3 thoughts on “Feng Shui by the Lake

  1. Pingback: Feng Shui by the Lake | melissalynnsmith

  2. Pingback: my dabbling in feng shui! | Melissa Smith Spaces part I | Jody Savage Photography

  3. Pingback: Dabbling in Feng Shui | Melissa Smith Spaces

Leave a comment